SSHRC Proposal, etc.

I am still not completely certain that I have fully applied the salsa-dancing approach to my research process and proposal but one aspect of Luker that I do appreciate is her belief in the value of exploring life outside academia. Whatever salsa dancing is in your life – running, yoga, going to see films or simply spending time with your beloved black lab – I believe that having this substance in your life and finding a balance between what informs your personal and mental well-being and that which informs your rigorous study and graduate research is where valuable insight is best found. At least that holds true for my life. I have also found that most students in our degree often juggle many responsibilities. Usually they are members of student groups, have at least two (if not more) part-time jobs, commute from the nether regions of the city, volunteer at special libraries, are involved in independent and external research projects and sleep very little. Being in a “professional” program requires that students garner as much experience outside of academic life as possible in order to enter the workforce successfully.

On the topic of research for our first assignment, I have loved reading your posts and in doing so, have realized that I am not a crazy person for second and third and fourth guessing myself and my research interests. My initial question (as you may or may not remember) was related to the impact of mobile technologies on consumer health and patient education centres in hospitals. When I took an in-depth look at the guidelines for SSHRC, I realized that any research interests related to medicine, health, health policy, public health and/or behaviours related to these is not supported. This was a huge setback for me because I had also wanted to investigate the information behavior of dentistry students and/or the impact of library instruction on their information seeking as I work at the Faculty of Dentistry’s library at U of T. Because Dentistry is a health science, I did not want to chance my research proposal being rejected. Once again, I was influenced by a section of Luker, which is in the chapter on Sampling, Operationalization, and Generalization. Luker says “one of the tasks of salsa-dancing research is to elicit the deep meaning structures that people in a given situation hold, and how those meaning structures map across external reality.” (2011, p.110) This insight into meaning making was the impetus for my finalized research topic which has to do with data literacy initiatives in academic libraries and the meaning structures around them and how this will/can affect the digital economy. This is an area that I am quite interested in and I nervously await the comments and feedback.

I hope your SSHRC proposals went well!

–          Vanessa

2 thoughts on “SSHRC Proposal, etc.

  1. Hi Vanessa,
    I completely get your second guessing yourself regarding the SSHRC application. In regards to being concerned about your interests aligning with SSHRC, I suggest you perhaps contact them to inquire a little more, unless you’re certain those guidelines prohibit you. If there is a shred of doubt, I do think it’s worth your while to pursue what you’re evidently very intigued with. I do have a friend who recently completed her Master’s in Clinical Psychology, and received SSHRC funding for it because, although it was a research project related to mental health and clinical studies, it did fall under SSHRC (as opposed to NSERC) guidelines. I do realize that Psychology proposals fall under different guidelines. However, in taking a look at the very specific guidelines, it does seem that they have covered a lot of possible research scenarios. In case you did want to pursue your interest in researching information behaviour of dentistry students, you could contact them. You never know, they might be able to tell you where your interests would fall under their guidelines, as I didn’t see anything that might expressly prohibit that proposal of yours. For example, under this “eligible for SSHRC funding” guideline, “comparative studies in which health is not the primary object of study” is one of the possibilities, it seems to me that your research interest in the information behaviour of dentistry students could easily fit within that SSHRC guidelines! I know this is a little late to help you with your SSHRC proposal for our course, but just in case you wanted to research it for future endeavors/proposals, here’s the link where I found that info: http://www.sshrc-crsh.gc.ca/funding-financement/apply-demande/background-renseignements/selecting_agency-choisir_organisme_subventionnaire-eng.aspx#af3

    Hope you all had an enjoyable reading week!
    – Katherine

    • Katherine, thank you for your reply to my post devoted to SSHRC nerves. I was able to tweak my research direction such that it fell into the requisite parameters (at least I hope) as I had reviewed and scrutinized the general guidelines (found at the link you posted) for eligibility and decided I wouldn’t chance the overtly health sciences direction I was headed.

      I really appreciate your thoughtful response!

      – Vanessa

Leave a Reply

