Week 2 Readings

Hey Everyone,

I will start the blog off with Week 2’s readings of Luker (chapters 1-3) and Knight (pp. 1-15). Although I do not like to begin with a comparison, I found throughout the readings a prevailing preference for one style/approach over the other. I read Luker’s “Salsa-Dancing into the Social Sciences” over the holidays and struggled through one tedious and discursive chapter after another; while I enjoyed some of the cases she presented, I was unsatisfied. The first three chapters introduce this metaphor of salsa-dancing methods through the social sciences, and some of the guidelines for a non-traditional approach to research.  In contrast, Knight’s first 15 pages of “Small-Scale Research” was methodical, unembellished and really drove the main arguments of starting your research with writing. This approach provided the benefits and/or problems, outlined why certain methods were significant, and seemed very practical. Regardless of my initial perspective on these readings, I will continue to give Luker the benefit of the doubt, and maybe it will click? Maybe?

Did anyone else have a similar problem?

Signing off,

Kait 

2 thoughts on “Week 2 Readings

  1. Hey Kait, great post. I didn’t get a chance to read Luker’s ‘Salsa Dancing into the Social Sciences’ over the break and so I haven’t read all the way through. I find that I’m struggling with it as well. It’s a little disheartening to know that you found it hard to read the first time, but like you, I’ll try to keep an open mind.

Leave a Reply

